About the Silver Cord program

The Silver Cord of Service Award is a distinguished volunteer service award available to all high school students in DMPS. To qualify for this award, students must complete a minimum of 40 hours of community service each year of high school for a total of 160 hours on or before May 1st of their senior year. Silver Cord recipients will receive a special honor cord to wear for commencement as recognition of their outstanding achievement.

The purpose of the Silver Cord program is to encourage civic engagement and allow students the experience of giving back to the community. Volunteering can provide a constructive use of time, foster the exploration of career interests, support youth seeking employment and college admission, and give new graduates the confidence to serve in leadership roles after high school.

Contact Us
Jill Padgett
East High School​​​​​
Jill.padgett@dmschools.org

​​​​​​Lupe Thomason
Roosevelt High School
​​​​Lupe.thomason@dmschools.org

Cara Graziano ​​​​​​
Lincoln High School ​​​​​
Cara.graziano@dmschools.org ​​​​

Gretchen Critelli
Hoover High School
Gretchen.critelli@dmschools.org

Charles Mercer ​​​​​​
North High School​​​​​
Charles.mercer@dmschools.org

Lyn Marchant
Scavo High School
​​​Lynette.marchant@dmschools.org